mtd: nand: make Samsung SLC NAND usable again
authorLothar Waßmann <LW@KARO-electronics.de>
Tue, 29 Aug 2017 10:06:47 +0000 (12:06 +0200)
committerLothar Waßmann <LW@KARO-electronics.de>
Thu, 7 Sep 2017 12:37:38 +0000 (14:37 +0200)
commitf8813c6431971322ef813b39bf41d21c7f40b9c7
tree62be4900e8e2d58bcadff621b4ea674e0c24addf
parent569dbb88e80deb68974ef6fdd6a13edb9d686261
mtd: nand: make Samsung SLC NAND usable again

commit c51d0ac59f24 ("mtd: nand: Move Samsung specific init/detection
logic in nand_samsung.c") introduced a regression for Samsung SLC NAND
chips. Prior to this commit chip->bits_per_cell was initialized by calling
nand_get_bits_per_cell() before interpreting the ID bytes retrieved
from the chip. With the offending commit this call is skipped, leaving
chip->bits_per_cell cleared to zero when the manufacturer specific
'.detect' function is called. This is interpreted by nand_is_slc() as
an indicator for an MLC chip (bits_per_cell != 1).
The effect is that e.g. a K9F1G08U0F NAND chip is falsely detected as
MLC NAND with 4KiB page size rather than SLC with 2KiB page size.

Add a call to nand_get_bits_per_cell() before calling the .detect hook
function in nand_manufacturer_detect(), so that the nand_is_slc()
calls in the manufacturer specific code will return correct results.
drivers/mtd/nand/nand_base.c