mtd: nand: complain loudly when chip->bits_per_cell is not correctly initialized
authorLothar Waßmann <LW@KARO-electronics.de>
Tue, 29 Aug 2017 10:07:00 +0000 (12:07 +0200)
committerLothar Waßmann <LW@KARO-electronics.de>
Thu, 7 Sep 2017 12:37:39 +0000 (14:37 +0200)
chip->bits_per_cell which is used to determine the NAND cell type
(SLC/MLC) should always have a value != 0.
Complain loudly if the value is 0 in nand_is_slc() to catch use before
correct initialization.

include/linux/mtd/nand.h

index 5216d2e..14761eb 100644 (file)
@@ -1246,6 +1246,8 @@ int onfi_init_data_interface(struct nand_chip *chip,
  */
 static inline bool nand_is_slc(struct nand_chip *chip)
 {
+       WARN(chip->bits_per_cell == 0,
+            "chip->bits_per_cell is used uninitialized\n");
        return chip->bits_per_cell == 1;
 }