Revert "e1000: fix sw fw sync on igb i210/i211"
authorTim Harvey <tharvey@gateworks.com>
Tue, 19 May 2015 17:01:19 +0000 (10:01 -0700)
committerLothar Waßmann <LW@KARO-electronics.de>
Thu, 10 Sep 2015 06:17:40 +0000 (08:17 +0200)
This reverts commit 17da7120249bfdef877f46be5bbcb3cc01212eb9.

The i210/i211 do have the SW_FW_SYNC (0x5b5c) register and this is what should
be used when acquiring the semaphore.

I believe the issue that this patch was trying to resolve is now resolved
by properly releasing the semaphore once no longer needed.

Cc: Marcel Ziswiler <marcel@ziswiler.com>
Cc: Marek Vasut <marex@denx.de>
Cc: Aneesh Bansal <aneesh.bansal@freescale.com>
Cc: Naveen Burmi <NaveenBurmi@freescale.com>
Cc: Po Liu <po.liu@freescale.com>
Cc: Bin Meng <bmeng.cn@gmail.com>
Cc: Alison Wang <alison.wang@freescale.com>
Cc: Reinhard Arlt <reinhard.arlt@esd-electronics.com>
Cc: Shengzhou Liu <Shengzhou.Liu@freescale.com>
Cc: York Sun <yorksun@freescale.com>
Signed-off-by: Tim Harvey <tharvey@gateworks.com>
Tested-by: Bin Meng <bmeng.cn@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Marcel Ziswiler <marcel.ziswiler@toradex.com>
drivers/net/e1000.c
drivers/net/e1000.h

index b49980a..739d24b 100644 (file)
@@ -1120,10 +1120,7 @@ e1000_swfw_sync_acquire(struct e1000_hw *hw, uint16_t mask)
                if (e1000_get_hw_eeprom_semaphore(hw))
                        return -E1000_ERR_SWFW_SYNC;
 
-               if (hw->mac_type == e1000_igb)
-                       swfw_sync = E1000_READ_REG(hw, I210_SW_FW_SYNC);
-               else
-                       swfw_sync = E1000_READ_REG(hw, SW_FW_SYNC);
+               swfw_sync = E1000_READ_REG(hw, SW_FW_SYNC);
                if (!(swfw_sync & (fwmask | swmask)))
                        break;
 
@@ -4458,6 +4455,7 @@ e1000_phy_hw_reset(struct e1000_hw *hw)
 
                if (hw->mac_type >= e1000_82571)
                        mdelay(10);
+
        } else {
                /* Read the Extended Device Control Register, assert the PHY_RESET_DIR
                 * bit to put the PHY into reset. Then, take it out of reset.
index f3b77b1..232c95d 100644 (file)
@@ -2496,7 +2496,6 @@ struct e1000_hw {
 #define ICH_GFPREG_BASE_MASK       0x1FFF
 #define ICH_FLASH_LINEAR_ADDR_MASK 0x00FFFFFF
 
-#define E1000_I210_SW_FW_SYNC 0x5B50 /* Software-Firmware Synchronization - RW */
 #define E1000_SW_FW_SYNC 0x05B5C /* Software-Firmware Synchronization - RW */
 
 /* SPI EEPROM Status Register */