e1000: releasing semaphore once no longer needed
authorTim Harvey <tharvey@gateworks.com>
Tue, 19 May 2015 17:01:18 +0000 (10:01 -0700)
committerLothar Waßmann <LW@KARO-electronics.de>
Thu, 10 Sep 2015 06:17:40 +0000 (08:17 +0200)
Once the hwsw semaphore is acquired, it must be released when access to the
hw is completed. Without this subsequent calls to acquire will timeout
obtaining the semaphore.

Cc: Marcel Ziswiler <marcel@ziswiler.com>
Cc: Marek Vasut <marex@denx.de>
Cc: Aneesh Bansal <aneesh.bansal@freescale.com>
Cc: Naveen Burmi <NaveenBurmi@freescale.com>
Cc: Po Liu <po.liu@freescale.com>
Cc: Bin Meng <bmeng.cn@gmail.com>
Cc: Alison Wang <alison.wang@freescale.com>
Cc: Reinhard Arlt <reinhard.arlt@esd-electronics.com>
Cc: Shengzhou Liu <Shengzhou.Liu@freescale.com>
Cc: York Sun <yorksun@freescale.com>
Signed-off-by: Tim Harvey <tharvey@gateworks.com>
Tested-by: Bin Meng <bmeng.cn@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Marcel Ziswiler <marcel.ziswiler@toradex.com>
drivers/net/e1000.c

index 96e6bb0..b49980a 100644 (file)
@@ -126,6 +126,7 @@ static int e1000_detect_gig_phy(struct e1000_hw *hw);
 static void e1000_set_media_type(struct e1000_hw *hw);
 
 static int32_t e1000_swfw_sync_acquire(struct e1000_hw *hw, uint16_t mask);
+static void e1000_swfw_sync_release(struct e1000_hw *hw, uint16_t mask);
 static int32_t e1000_check_phy_reset_block(struct e1000_hw *hw);
 
 #ifndef CONFIG_E1000_NO_NVM
@@ -729,7 +730,10 @@ void e1000_release_eeprom(struct e1000_hw *hw)
                eecd &= ~E1000_EECD_REQ;
                E1000_WRITE_REG(hw, EECD, eecd);
        }
+
+       e1000_swfw_sync_release(hw, E1000_SWFW_EEP_SM);
 }
+
 /******************************************************************************
  * Reads a 16 bit word from the EEPROM.
  *
@@ -1102,6 +1106,7 @@ e1000_get_hw_eeprom_semaphore(struct e1000_hw *hw)
        return E1000_SUCCESS;
 }
 
+/* Take ownership of the PHY */
 static int32_t
 e1000_swfw_sync_acquire(struct e1000_hw *hw, uint16_t mask)
 {
@@ -1141,6 +1146,21 @@ e1000_swfw_sync_acquire(struct e1000_hw *hw, uint16_t mask)
        return E1000_SUCCESS;
 }
 
+static void e1000_swfw_sync_release(struct e1000_hw *hw, uint16_t mask)
+{
+       uint32_t swfw_sync = 0;
+
+       DEBUGFUNC();
+       while (e1000_get_hw_eeprom_semaphore(hw))
+               ; /* Empty */
+
+       swfw_sync = E1000_READ_REG(hw, SW_FW_SYNC);
+       swfw_sync &= ~mask;
+       E1000_WRITE_REG(hw, SW_FW_SYNC, swfw_sync);
+
+       e1000_put_hw_eeprom_semaphore(hw);
+}
+
 static bool e1000_is_second_port(struct e1000_hw *hw)
 {
        switch (hw->mac_type) {
@@ -4462,6 +4482,8 @@ e1000_phy_hw_reset(struct e1000_hw *hw)
                E1000_WRITE_REG(hw, LEDCTL, led_ctrl);
        }
 
+       e1000_swfw_sync_release(hw, swfw);
+
        /* Wait for FW to finish PHY configuration. */
        ret_val = e1000_get_phy_cfg_done(hw);
        if (ret_val != E1000_SUCCESS)