ubi: fastmap: Implement produce_free_peb()
authorRichard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Tue, 11 Aug 2015 21:27:44 +0000 (23:27 +0200)
committerRichard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Sat, 3 Oct 2015 21:25:30 +0000 (23:25 +0200)
If fastmap requests a free PEB for a pool and UBI is busy
with erasing PEBs we need to offer a function to wait for one.
We can reuse produce_free_peb() from the non-fastmap WL code
but with different locking semantics.

Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org # 4.1.x-
Reported-and-tested-by: Jörg Krause <joerg.krause@embedded.rocks>
Signed-off-by: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
drivers/mtd/ubi/fastmap-wl.c

index b2a6653..30d3999 100644 (file)
@@ -171,6 +171,30 @@ void ubi_refill_pools(struct ubi_device *ubi)
        spin_unlock(&ubi->wl_lock);
 }
 
+/**
+ * produce_free_peb - produce a free physical eraseblock.
+ * @ubi: UBI device description object
+ *
+ * This function tries to make a free PEB by means of synchronous execution of
+ * pending works. This may be needed if, for example the background thread is
+ * disabled. Returns zero in case of success and a negative error code in case
+ * of failure.
+ */
+static int produce_free_peb(struct ubi_device *ubi)
+{
+       int err;
+
+       while (!ubi->free.rb_node && ubi->works_count) {
+               dbg_wl("do one work synchronously");
+               err = do_work(ubi);
+
+               if (err)
+                       return err;
+       }
+
+       return 0;
+}
+
 /**
  * ubi_wl_get_peb - get a physical eraseblock.
  * @ubi: UBI device description object
@@ -213,6 +237,11 @@ again:
                }
                retried = 1;
                up_read(&ubi->fm_eba_sem);
+               ret = produce_free_peb(ubi);
+               if (ret < 0) {
+                       down_read(&ubi->fm_eba_sem);
+                       goto out;
+               }
                goto again;
        }