README: update ARM register usage
authorJeroen Hofstee <jeroen@myspectrum.nl>
Sat, 21 Sep 2013 12:04:42 +0000 (14:04 +0200)
committerAlbert ARIBAUD <albert.u.boot@aribaud.net>
Mon, 23 Sep 2013 16:00:36 +0000 (18:00 +0200)
Besides the change of this patchset it also updates the
README to reflect that GOT-generated relocations are no
longer supported on ARM.

cc: Albert ARIBAUD <albert.u.boot@aribaud.net>
Signed-off-by: Jeroen Hofstee <jeroen@myspectrum.nl>
README

diff --git a/README b/README
index f27e578..2fcad7f 100644 (file)
--- a/README
+++ b/README
@@ -5587,15 +5587,17 @@ On ARM, the following registers are used:
 
        R0:     function argument word/integer result
        R1-R3:  function argument word
 
        R0:     function argument word/integer result
        R1-R3:  function argument word
-       R9:     GOT pointer
-       R10:    stack limit (used only if stack checking if enabled)
+       R9:     platform specific
+       R10:    stack limit (used only if stack checking is enabled)
        R11:    argument (frame) pointer
        R12:    temporary workspace
        R13:    stack pointer
        R14:    link register
        R15:    program counter
 
        R11:    argument (frame) pointer
        R12:    temporary workspace
        R13:    stack pointer
        R14:    link register
        R15:    program counter
 
-    ==> U-Boot will use R8 to hold a pointer to the global data
+    ==> U-Boot will use R9 to hold a pointer to the global data
+
+    Note: on ARM, only R_ARM_RELATIVE relocations are supported.
 
 On Nios II, the ABI is documented here:
        http://www.altera.com/literature/hb/nios2/n2cpu_nii51016.pdf
 
 On Nios II, the ABI is documented here:
        http://www.altera.com/literature/hb/nios2/n2cpu_nii51016.pdf